top of page

Members of the Bromsgrove Court Leet

Bromsgrove Court Leet members each take on various roles and responsibilities within the Court, all of whom uphold the traditions of this ancient organisation.

The Court is answerable to the Lord of the Manor of Bromsgrove, who in medieval times was directly responsible to the King of England. The head of the Court is the Bailiff with the Reeve as second in command. The Lord of the Manor is represented by his Steward and the Court has a Marshal, Chappelyn, Bellman & Towncrier, Custodian of the Records & Herald, Treasurer and Market Master. Members of the Court Jury act as officers of the Court who are co-ordinated by the Foreman of the Jury and have roles such as Ale Taster, Breadweigher, Searcher and Sealer of Leather, Carniter, and Brook-looker – modern day trading standards.


The Jurymen swear an oath to take on the roles of Reeve and Bailiff in the future. The Headborough and Constable of the Court leads the Tythingmen who each have responsibility for their tything area (yield). Within the Manor of Bromsgrove there are thirteen tythings. Past Bailiffs of the Court are known as Ealdormen and three Ealdormen are elected as Affeerors to sit on the Inner Court and ensure the traditions are upheld. New members are nominated by existing members and elected to the court at the Great Autumn Court or the Spring Court meeting, both held annually.

L -Reeve Mark Robinson C -Lord of the Manor R- Bailiff Philip Thomas.jpg

Reeve - Mark Robinson

Lord of the Manor - Chris Bird

Bailiff - Philip Thomas

 The Court for the year from November 2023 looks like this:

Chris Bird – The Lord of the Manor since 1972 when the title was passed down from his grandfather.

John Fisher – The Steward, represents the Lord of the Manor in the Court.


Philip Thomas - The Bailiff of the Bromsgrove Court Leet, elected at the Autumn Court on 9th November 2023. Philip joined the Court in November 2018 as a Member of the Jury where he served as Carnitor and Ale Taster.

Mark Robinson - The Reeve, second in command. Mark joined the Court as the Tythingman for Gannow in November 2013 and became a Member of the Jury at the Autumn Court in November 2020 where he served as the Brook-Looker.

Joanne Slade – Ealdorman, Custodian of the Records & Herald. Jo was the first female to be elected Bailiff of our Court in November 2019. She is daughter of Ealdorman David Slade, Bailiff in the 800th Year of the Court. Jo served as Bailiff for a second year following re-election at the Autumn Court on 6th November 2020 due to the cancellation of events caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

Richard Harper – The Marshal; responsible for keeping the Court in order at Court meetings and events.

T. Matthew Horton, John P Rogers, Jeremy Sharp – Affeerors

Roger Weaver, John Burman – Affeeror Emeritus

Kevin Ward - Bellman & Towncrier “Oyez, oyez, oyez!” Kevin has been the Bellman to the Court since 1985, his great, great, great grandfather was the last Town Crier in Birmingham from 1827 til 1882 when he died.

John Wheatley – Court Treasurer. John served as Bailiff, elected in 2015

Rev'd Ray Khan – Chappelyn, Ray is the vicar at the Parish Church of St John’s. The Court attend the Patronal Service annually on the Sunday after Fair Day.

Charlie Ayres - Constable & Headborough.

Robert Richardson – Honorary Constable.

Geoffery A Evans - Honorary Constable. Geoff served as Headborough from 6th November 2003 until 6th November 2020

David Coulson - Market Master

Bill Tucker - Foreman of the Jury, elected Bailiff in 2018



Robert Spittle – Senior Ale Taster, elected to the Court November 2018

Jon Till – Senior Ale Taster, elected to the Court in November 2018

Ray Giles – Deputy Ale Taster, elected to the Court in November 2011

Jamie Leavesley – Breadweigher, elected to the Court in November 2022

Rod Laight – Searcher & Sealer of Leather, elected to the Court in November 2023

Robert Pryde – Carnitor of Flesh and Fish, elected to the Court in November 2023

Patrick Firminger – Brooklooker, elected to the Court in October 2010

The Jury

Ealdormen with year elected Bailiff

Roger Weaver Affeeror Emeritus 1973

T. Matthew Horton Affeeror 1984

Kenneth Pinfield Ealdorman 1989

John Morris Ealdorman 1990

Ted Keen Ealdorman 1992

John Burman Affeeror Emeritus 1994

Richard Wilkinson Ealdorman 1997

David Slade Ealdorman 1998

Tim Harris Ealdorman 1999

Graham Boyles Ealdorman 2003

Jeremy Sharp Affeeror 2004

Dennis Norton Ealdorman 2007

Group Captain John P Rogers Ealdorman 2008

Martin Connellan Ealdorman 2011

Roy Thomason Ealdorman 2012

Richard Harper Ealdorman 2013

John Wheatley Ealdorman 2015

Philip Harper Ealdorman 2016

Nick Pinfield Ealdorman 2017

Dr William Tucker Ealdorman 2018

Joanne Slade Ealdorman 2019 & 2020

Neil Beaumont 2021

Robert Bird 2022

The Tythingmen and their yields

Bonehill Yield - Tythingman Terry Bacon

Buntsford Yield & Deputy Ale Taster - Tythingman Adrian Smith

Burcot Yield - Tythingman Cyril Day

Catshill Yield & Market Master - Tythingman David Coulson

Chadwick Yield - Tythingman David G Thomas

Dodford Yield - Tythingman Richard Abbotts

Fockbury Yield - Tythingman Richard Nokes

Gannow Yield - Tythingman Peter Gale

Lickey Common Yield - Tythingman Michael Adams

Padstone Yield - Tythingman Rebecca Guest

Shepley Yield – Tythingman Geoff Hawkesworth

Timberhonger Yield – Tythingman Jeff Evans

Town Yield - Tythingman Susan Norton

Tutnall Yield - Vacant

Willingwick Yield - Vacant

Woodcote Yield - Vacant

bottom of page